Constitutional body that runs Indian elections under Article 324: how its members are appointed and removed, how it enforces the Model Code of Conduct, and the court findings and party complaints on its decisions across eras.
Facts as of . Check sources for later developments. 16 of 28 sources are labelled as seen only in search results or summaries and not opened in full; see each source label, and read statuses taken from them as "as reported". This matter is ongoing, so statuses below may have changed.
A dossier is a fact file. It records what is on record and who said what; it does not give a verdict. It is not scored and earns or loses no party points. How dossiers are written.
Article 324 of the Constitution vests the superintendence, direction and control of electoral rolls and the conduct of elections to Parliament, the state legislatures and the offices of President and Vice-President in the Election Commission. The Commission has had three members since 1993, a structure the Supreme Court upheld in 1995 [23]. Appointments were made by the President, without a parliamentary law, until the Supreme Court’s 2 March 2023 judgment in Anoop Baranwal set an interim committee including the Chief Justice [3]. Parliament then passed the 2023 Act, which put a Union Cabinet Minister in the Chief Justice’s place, and its validity is pending before the Supreme Court, which refused a stay in March 2024 [1][4][5]. The Chief Election Commissioner can be removed only as a Supreme Court judge can; other Commissioners only on the CEC’s recommendation [1]. Removal notices against the present CEC were submitted in 2026 and rejected by the presiding officers on 6 April, with a fresh notice filed on 24 April [12][13].
Disputes have arisen in every period covered here. Complaints about the Commission’s partiality were made by the BJP in 2006 to 2009 against a Commissioner appointed under a Congress-led government, by the BJP in 2014, by the Congress in 2019 and by opposition parties from 2023 to 2026 [22][24][20][12]. Where a response by the Commission or the government named in a complaint was found, it is recorded in the claims table; the courts have given findings only on narrower questions, such as the EVM-VVPAT system in April 2024 [6]. The Commission’s 2024 position on Form 17C data is described in [8]. Electoral bonds data were published by the Commission after the Supreme Court’s February 2024 order; see the Electoral Bond Scheme, 2018 action entry for detail [27]. The special intensive revision of rolls is covered in the dossier special-intensive-revision-electoral-rolls and is not repeated here.
What the record does not show is listed under ‘What this does not show’.
Timeline
In date order. Each item shows what kind of statement it is, who is the actor, and where it comes from.
EventUnion government; T. N. Seshan
An Ordinance amended the 1991 Act so that the Commission became a three-member body; Chief Election Commissioner T. N. Seshan challenged it. He said the step was meant to curb his powers over code-of-conduct violations by the ruling party; the Union government denied any such link.
A Constitution Bench dismissed Seshan's challenge in T. N. Seshan v. Union of India (1995) 4 SCC 611 and held that Article 324 permits a multi-member Commission.
Chief Election Commissioner N. Gopalaswami recommended Chawla's removal under Article 324(5); the Union government did not act on it, and Chawla became CEC in April 2009.
Election Commission barred Amit Shah (BJP) and Azam Khan (Samajwadi Party) from rallies over speeches, then eased the restriction on Shah; Samajwadi Party and Congress objected to the relaxation.
The Commission initially refused permission for a Narendra Modi rally in Varanasi; the BJP, through Arun Jaitley, protested publicly and permission was granted late on 7 May.
Supreme Court disposed of Sushmita Dev's petition (Congress) against the Commission's handling of complaints against Narendra Modi and Amit Shah, saying the complaints had been decided and the merits could be challenged in a separate petition.
Commission recognised the Eknath Shinde group as the Shiv Sena and allotted it the bow-and-arrow symbol, citing the share of votes polled for the MLAs backing each side.
Constitution Bench decided Anoop Baranwal v. Union of India: until Parliament legislates, appointments are to follow a three-member committee of the Prime Minister, the Leader of Opposition and the Chief Justice of India.
Chief Election Commissioner and Other Election Commissioners (Appointment, Conditions of Service and Term of Office) Act, 2023 (Act 49 of 2023) is dated 28 December 2023; in force 2 January 2024.
Commission recognised the Ajit Pawar group as the NCP and allotted it the clock symbol, relying on legislative strength (51 of 81 legislators, as reported).
Selection Committee recommended Gyanesh Kumar and Sukhbir Singh Sandhu as Election Commissioners after two vacancies; the President approved the same day, as recorded by the Supreme Court.
Supreme Court allowed the Sharad Pawar group to use the name 'Nationalist Congress Party - Sharadchandra Pawar' and a trumpet symbol, and directed the Ajit Pawar group to publish a notice that the clock symbol allotment is sub judice.
Supreme Court (Justices Khanna and Datta) dismissed applications to stay section 7 of the 2023 Act, expressing concern at the shortlisting procedure but declining interim relief because of the 2024 general election.
Supreme Court rejected petitions for a return to paper ballots and for 100% VVPAT-EVM cross-verification, and issued two directions (sealing of symbol loading units; engineer check of burnt memory in 5% of EVMs on candidates' request).
Lok Sabha Speaker and Rajya Sabha Chairman rejected the notices under section 3 of the Judges (Inquiry) Act, 1968, citing a 'careful and objective assessment' and giving no further reasons.
Opposition submitted a fresh notice in the Rajya Sabha signed by 73 MPs alleging 'proven misbehaviour'; its status as of late September was undecided in the reports found.
SC Observer reports that a bench considering the challenge to the 2023 Act directed the papers to the Chief Justice of India to constitute a Constitution Bench (not checked against the order text).
Findings, official statements, data and events are on record. An allegation is a claim that no finding has established; it is marked with a dashed border, a warning triangle and the words "Not established", and always shows its status and any response.
Claims in this dossierEach claim shows its type, who made it, its current status and any response. Type is shown in words and symbols, not colour.
Claim
Type
Made by
Status
Response
Source
Not established by a findingAppointment under the 2023 Act: replacing the Chief Justice of India with a Union Cabinet Minister on the Selection Committee leaves two of three members from the government side.
Allegation
Opposition members of Parliament, including DMK's Tiruchi Siva; analysis by PRS Legislative Research
Challenged in Dr. Jaya Thakur v. Union of India and connected petitions; stay refused on 22 March 2024; matter pending
Law Minister Arjun Ram Meghwal said the Bill is consistent with the Supreme Court ruling, that the Court's committee was a stop-gap, and that appointments are an executive function with the Prime Minister a part of the process.
Not established by a findingThe shortlist for the two Election Commissioner posts was given to the Leader of Opposition only minutes before the 14 March 2024 Selection Committee meeting.
Allegation
Petitioners in Jaya Thakur, relying on a report quoting Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury (Congress)
Recorded by the Supreme Court; the Court expressed concern about the procedure but declined interim relief
The Union's stated position, as recorded in the order, was a timeline of Search and Selection Committee steps beginning on 1 February 2024 and the Selection Committee meeting being advanced to 14 March 2024 because of a second vacancy.
Appointments should be made on the advice of a committee including the Chief Justice, and service conditions of Election Commissioners should not be varied to their disadvantage after appointment, until Parliament legislates.
Finding
Constitution Bench of the Supreme Court, 2 March 2023
Judgment of the Court; the 2023 Act is a later law under Article 324(2)
Not established by a findingSeshan, 1993: the Union government expanded the Commission to curb a Chief Election Commissioner who had acted against code-of-conduct violations by the ruling party.
Allegation
T. N. Seshan
Rejected: Supreme Court upheld the multi-member Commission on 14 July 1995
The Union government denied any link to the ruling party's electoral setbacks and said the Ordinance followed observations in S. S. Dhanoa v. Union of India.
Not established by a findingIn 2014 the Commission acted partially in the matter of speeches and the Varanasi rally.
Allegation
BJP (Arun Jaitley, Narendra Modi) on the Varanasi rally; Samajwadi Party and Congress on the relaxation of the ban on Amit Shah
Not the subject of a court finding in the sources reviewed; Varanasi permission was granted on 7 May 2014
Commission granted the Varanasi permission and said the Amit Shah restriction had been modified with close monitoring; fuller ECI statements were not located.
Not established by a findingIn 2019 the Commission cleared Narendra Modi and Amit Shah on several code-of-conduct complaints, over a dissent by Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa.
Allegation
Sushmita Dev and the Congress (petitioner); reporting on Lavasa's dissents
Supreme Court disposed of the petition on 8 May 2019 as infructuous, leaving the merits for a separate petition; no finding on the merits
Under the 1991 Act, differences among Commissioners are decided by majority; a fuller ECI statement on the 2019 orders was not located.
Not established by a findingDisparity in notices: a count of Commission notices and orders between 13 November 2023 and 8 May 2024 shows 6 involving Congress leaders and 3 involving the BJP.
Allegation
Sabrang India and The Wire (analysis of the Commission's website)
Analysis, not a Commission statement; the tally covers one period and does not record complaints made or the outcome of each
No ECI response to the analysis was found. Reports in search results (not opened) say that in April 2024 the Commission sent letters to the presidents of both the BJP and the Congress over star campaigners' speeches.
Not established by a findingForm 17C and polling percentages, 2024: final turnout figures released after the first two phases were 5 to 6 percentage points higher than initially announced, and booth-wise Form 17C data should be published.
Allegation
Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR); independent candidate Mehmood Pracha
Supreme Court vacation bench declined interim relief on 24 May 2024; in March 2025 it gave petitioners liberty to approach the Commission
The Commission called the claim of a 5 to 6 per cent rise 'misleading and unsubstantiated'; said it has no legal mandate to share Form 17C with anyone other than candidates or their agents; said publishing it could enable morphed images; and said the turnout app is provisional.
The EVM-VVPAT system does not violate free and fair elections; the demand to return to paper ballots is rejected; 100% VVPAT counting is not ordered.
Finding
Supreme Court (Justices Sanjiv Khanna and Dipankar Datta), 26 April 2024, Association for Democratic Reforms v. Election Commission of India, 2024 INSC 341
Judgment delivered; follow-up applications on verification SOPs were filed by ADR in 2025
The Commission had told the Court the machines are non-tamperable and that full manual counting would be labour-intensive and prone to human error.
Not established by a findingShiv Sena and NCP symbol decisions relied on legislative strength rather than organisational structure.
Allegation
Uddhav Thackeray's group (Shiv Sena); Sharad Pawar's group (NCP)
Shiv Sena: Supreme Court refused a stay on 22 February 2023; NCP: Supreme Court gave interim directions on 19 March 2024; appeals pending as of the reports found
The Commission's orders said the MLAs backing Shinde had polled about 76 per cent of the votes for the 55 winning Shiv Sena candidates in 2019, and in the NCP case relied on the Ajit Pawar group's majority among legislators.
Not established by a findingOpposition parties allege 'vote chori' and say the Chief Election Commissioner should resign; notices seeking his removal were submitted in 2026.
Allegation
Rahul Gandhi (Congress); Jairam Ramesh (Congress); TMC members including Sagarika Ghose and Derek O'Brien
March 2026 notices rejected by the Speaker and the Rajya Sabha Chairman on 6 April 2026 without detailed reasons; a fresh Rajya Sabha notice of 24 April 2026 was undecided in the latest reports found
The CEC on 17 August 2025 asked Mr Gandhi to file an affidavit or apologise; in September 2025 the Commission called the allegations incorrect and baseless and said no deletions occur without a hearing. No ECI response to the removal notices was found.
A court, regulator or statutory body's recorded finding or order. The order or judgment is cited.
Official statement
What a government, ministry, constitutional body or company officially said or filed.
Allegation
A claim by a party, petitioner, journalist, NGO or analyst that has not been established by a finding. Its current status and the named party’s response are always stated.
Data
A measured figure from an official or audited source, with its period and unit.
Event
A dated, uncontested occurrence, such as a notification issued, a bill passed or an arrest made.
Positions
Who says what, paraphrased with attribution. Every holder gets a card of the same size and the same fields.
Election Commission of India
It acts under Article 324, its voter-roll and polling data practices follow the Representation of the People Act and rules, and doubts about EVMs, turnout data and rolls are unsubstantiated; it says it has no legal obligation to publish Form 17C.
Free and fair elections need an independent Commission and Parliament was meant to legislate on appointments; the Court expressed concern about the 2024 shortlisting process but did not stay the Act, and held that the EVM-VVPAT system stands.
Appointment framework for the CEC and ECsWhat the sources record at each stage. 'Before' is as summarised in the Supreme Court's own order of 22 March 2024; no more detailed count of past appointments is given here.
Feature
Before 2 March 2023
Interim, 2 March 2023 (Anoop Baranwal)
Act of 2023 (in force 2 January 2024)
Who recommends
No parliamentary law under Article 324(2); appointments made by the President (Court order notes appointments from the 1950s to 2023)
Three-member committee: Prime Minister, Leader of Opposition, Chief Justice of India
Selection Committee: Prime Minister, Leader of Opposition (or largest opposition party leader), Union Cabinet Minister nominated by the Prime Minister
Search or panel
None specified in law
Not specified in the sources reviewed
Search Committee headed by the Law Minister with two Secretary-level members proposes five names; Selection Committee may consider others
Eligibility
Not specified in law
Not specified in the sources reviewed
Holds or has held a post equivalent to Secretary to the Government of India; integrity; election experience
Term
Not verified for this version
Service conditions not to be varied to disadvantage after appointment
Six years or age 65, whichever is earlier; no re-appointment
Removal
CEC as a Supreme Court judge; others on CEC's recommendation
Same grounds of removal for Election Commissioners as for the CEC (para 126 of the judgment)
CEC as a Supreme Court judge; other ECs only on the CEC's recommendation
Notices and orders on code-of-conduct matters by party or entity, 13 November 2023 to 8 May 2024Count of notices or orders listed on the Election Commission website, as compiled by Sabrang India and The Wire; 16 in total. Not an official ECI tally; earlier notices are missing from the site category used. No complete ECI dataset by year and party, including for 2019 and 2024, was found.
Public trust in the Election Commission (Lokniti-CSDS)Documentation and Trust in the Voter Verification Process Study 2025; fieldwork 31 July to 13 August 2025; 3,054 adults in Delhi and five states (Assam, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal); per cent of respondents. Only the figures reported by The South First are shown.
Share answering 'no trust' in the Election Commission: Lokniti-CSDS, as reportedPer cent, from the 2025 study compared with 2019 as reported by The Wire. The article's text gives 22 for Madhya Pradesh while the co-director is quoted as saying 25; the 2019 figures are described as single digits (6 to 7) by the co-director. Not independently checked against the survey report.
This dossier does not establish whether the Election Commission has acted impartially or partially. Court findings recorded here concern specific questions (the EVM-VVPAT system, a stay of the 2023 Act, interim relief on Form 17C data, interim symbol arrangements), not the Commission's overall conduct. Allegations from parties across eras are listed with responses but none is established by a finding unless stated.
No complete dataset of Model Code of Conduct notices by year and party, for 2019, 2024 or other elections, was found. The one tally shown covers 13 November 2023 to 8 May 2024, was compiled by media from the Commission's website, and says nothing about how many complaints were made against each party, which were upheld, or what penalties followed.
Counts of notices to parties do not show whether the underlying conduct was comparable, so unequal counts cannot by themselves show unequal treatment.
The Commission's budget, staffing and its relation to the Union Ministry of Law and Justice were not verified from official budget documents for this version. The Anoop Baranwal judgment records the Commission's own request for an independent secretariat and for its expenditure to be charged on the Consolidated Fund, but the sources reviewed do not show whether that has been adopted.
The public trust survey figures cover one 2025 survey in Delhi and five states, and a comparison with 2019 as reported in the press. They are not a national measure and do not show the causes of any change in trust.
The status of the challenge to the 2023 Act, and of the 2026 removal notices, was taken from news and case-tracker reports that were not checked against the latest court or parliamentary records.
Sources
Numbers in square brackets refer to this list. Types: primary, official data and court sources are weighed above media and academic ones.
Parliament legislated appointments of election commissioners; the panel is the PM, the Leader of Opposition and a Union Cabinet Minister, replacing the Chief Justice named in the Court's 2023 interim panel.
After the Supreme Court ordered candidate affidavits on cases, assets and education, an ordinance and Act narrowed disclosure to criminal cases; the Court struck down Section 33B in 2003.
Evidence points −3.0 (range −5.0 to −1.0)
ImplementedIndependent institution: no party creditUnsettled
ECI ordered a house-to-house rebuild of Bihar's roll on 24 June 2025 and extended it to other States; the Supreme Court upheld it on 27 May 2026 while limiting the ECI's citizenship inquiry; West Bengal appeals continue.
Bearer-type bonds sold by SBI from 2018 let donors fund registered parties without public disclosure of donor names; the Supreme Court struck the scheme down on 15 February 2024.
The United Front government introduced the first Constitution amendment bill to reserve one-third of Lok Sabha and Assembly seats for women in September 1996; it was referred to a joint committee and lapsed.
Constitutional amendment adding the Tenth Schedule, which disqualifies legislators who voluntarily give up party membership or vote against party direction, with the presiding officer deciding.