Big business groups and market concentration

Measured size of India's largest business groups, their weight in the Nifty 50, their market shares in selected sectors, lender exposure, and how concentration has changed since the 1950s.

A dossier is a fact file. It records what is on record and who said what; it does not give a verdict. It is not scored and earns or loses no party points. How dossiers are written.

In depth

Indian business is often discussed in terms of a few large groups. Measured by market capitalisation at the end of 2025, Reliance, Bharti, Adani and the Tata group were each reported in the Rs 14 lakh crore to Rs 28 lakh crore range, though the sources use different dates and bases [4]. In the Nifty 50 list of August 2026, HDFC and ICICI banking companies carried the largest single-group weights (10.5% and 9.1%), with Reliance 8.8% and Tata 7.5% [2].

Shares within individual sectors differ widely: TRAI data show the two largest mobile operators holding roughly three-quarters of wireless subscribers [3], while a company-reported 27% to 28% of port cargo and 24% of airport passengers are attributed to Adani entities. One analysis finds the five largest groups’ share of non-financial assets rose from about 10% in 1991 to nearly 18% in 2021, while the next five fell [1].

The 1950s and 1960s are the reference point for older measures: Hazari’s study treated the family-controlled group as the unit of analysis, the Monopolies Inquiry Commission reported in 1965 and the MRTP Act followed in 1969 [6][11]. Its expansion controls were made inoperative after July 1991 and the Act was replaced by the Competition Act in 2009 [11]. Figures from those decades are not directly comparable with today’s market-capitalisation measures.

Do these groups run India?

Facts cited for the proposition that large groups hold a dominant position: rising Big-5 asset share since 1991, Top-5 sales shares of over 84% in telecom and over 65% in retail trade [1], and leading shares in ports, airports and refining. Facts against: the largest listed group weights are 10.5% or less of the Nifty 50 [2]; group revenues are 3% to 5% of nominal GDP [10]; Big 6-10 shares fell [1]; and no official total for group employment, tax or capex shares was obtained, so those are not stated. Named economists, parties and the government take differing positions, listed under positions. The numbers here do not establish who influences decisions.

Timeline

In date order. Each item shows what kind of statement it is, who is the actor, and where it comes from.

  1. EventMonopolies Inquiry Commission

    The Monopolies Inquiry Commission, headed by Justice K. C. Dasgupta, reports; R. K. Hazari's figures on 1951-58 concentration among 13 business groups had been supplied to the Mahalanobis Committee that preceded it.

    Source [6]: R. K. Hazari, The Structure of the Corporate Private Sector (book page, opened; no figures on page)
  2. EventR. K. Hazari

    R. K. Hazari publishes The Structure of the Corporate Private Sector, treating the family-controlled business group as the unit of analysis.

    Source [6]: R. K. Hazari, The Structure of the Corporate Private Sector (book page, opened; no figures on page)
  3. EventParliament of India

    The Monopolies and Restrictive Trade Practices Act, 1969 (Act 54 of 1969) is enacted.

    Source [11]: MRTP Act repealed and replaced by the Competition Act, 2002 w.e.f. 1 September 2009 (seen in search results, not opened)
  4. EventGovernment of India (centre-1991-narasimha-rao)

    After the July 1991 new economic policy, Chapter III of the MRTP Act (restrictions on expansion, mergers and amalgamations) is made inoperative.

    Source [11]: MRTP Act repealed and replaced by the Competition Act, 2002 w.e.f. 1 September 2009 (seen in search results, not opened)
  5. EventMinistry of Corporate Affairs

    The MRTP Act is repealed and replaced by the Competition Act, 2002 under an MCA notification dated 28 August 2009.

    Source [11]: MRTP Act repealed and replaced by the Competition Act, 2002 w.e.f. 1 September 2009 (seen in search results, not opened)
  6. Official statementState Bank of India

    SBI's chairman states the bank's exposure to the Adani group at about Rs 27,000 crore, 0.88% of its loan book, as of 31 December 2022.

    Source [8]: Adani-Hindenburg row: SBI's total exposure to Adani group is 0.9% of overall loan book, says chairman (seen in search results, not opened)
  7. EventViral Acharya

    Viral Acharya publishes a Brookings paper on the share of the five largest groups in non-financial assets and sales.

    Source [1]: Acharya, India at 75 (BEPA presentation, 30 March 2023), Brookings (opened)
  8. FindingCompetition Commission of India

    The Competition Commission of India approves the Reliance (Viacom18) and Disney Star combination subject to voluntary modifications; the modifications were not disclosed in the coverage seen.

    Source [12]: CCI approves Disney Star and Viacom18 merger (seen in search results, not opened)
  9. FindingSEBI

    SEBI, in final orders on show cause notices, finds the allegations in them against Gautam Adani and Adani group companies not established; Reuters reported other SEBI cases remain pending (order not opened here; see the Adani Group dossier for the order opened).

    Source [9]: Sebi gives Adani group clean chit, dismisses Hindenburg allegations (seen in search results, not opened)
  10. EventTRAI

    TRAI releases its performance indicator report for January-March 2026.

    Source [3]: TRAI Press Release No. 76 of 2026, Telecom Services Performance Indicator Report Jan-Mar 2026 (opened)

Claims

Findings, official statements, data and events are on record. An allegation is a claim that no finding has established; it is marked with a dashed border, a warning triangle and the words "Not established", and always shows its status and any response.

Claims in this dossierEach claim shows its type, who made it, its current status and any response. Type is shown in words and symbols, not colour.
ClaimTypeMade byStatusResponseSource
The five largest groups (Reliance, Tata, Aditya Birla, Adani, Bharti) increased their share of non-financial-sector assets from about 10% in 1991 to nearly 18% in 2021, while groups ranked 6 to 10 fell from about 18% in 1992 to under 9%.DataViral Acharya (Brookings paper and slides, March 2023), from firm-level assets and sales dataPublished analysis by a named economist; basis is company-reported dataNot applicable [1]: Acharya, India at 75 (BEPA presentation, 30 March 2023), Brookings (opened)
Not established by a findingBig-5 firms show higher markups than other firms and their rising sales share is associated with higher markups; India should break up the Big 5 to increase competition.AllegationViral AcharyaAcademic argument; not a finding by a court or regulator. Madan Sabnavis (Bank of Baroda) said there is not enough evidence for the thesisNo response from the named groups to the paper was located in this research. [7]: Break up Big 5, reduce tariffs: what Viral Acharya said in new paper (seen in search results, not opened)
Not established by a findingThe government backs particular businesses at the expense of others, producing monopoly.AllegationRahul Gandhi (INC), who says he is not anti-business but anti-monopolyPolitical allegation; no court or regulator finding of preference locatedThe BJP called the claims baseless and posted videos of executives of nine companies; the named groups' own responses were not located. [13]: I'm not anti-business, I'm anti-monopoly, says Rahul Gandhi (seen in search results, not opened)
Not established by a findingThe Hindenburg Research allegations of fraudulent transactions and share price manipulation against the Adani group.AllegationHindenburg Research (January 2023)SEBI order of 18 September 2025 held the allegations in the show cause notice not established; Reuters reported other SEBI cases pendingGautam Adani said the claims were baseless and that transparency and integrity define the group. [9]: Sebi gives Adani group clean chit, dismisses Hindenburg allegations (seen in search results, not opened)
SBI's exposure to the Adani group was about Rs 27,000 crore, 0.88% of its loan book (31 December 2022); Punjab National Bank's was about Rs 7,000 crore and Bank of Baroda's Rs 5,380 crore.Official statementSBI chairman Dinesh Khara (3 February 2023); other banks' figures as reportedBank statement; an opposition claim of 27% of the SBI loan book was reported to be wrongNot applicable [8]: Adani-Hindenburg row: SBI's total exposure to Adani group is 0.9% of overall loan book, says chairman (seen in search results, not opened)

What the claim types mean

Finding
A court, regulator or statutory body's recorded finding or order. The order or judgment is cited.
Official statement
What a government, ministry, constitutional body or company officially said or filed.
Allegation
A claim by a party, petitioner, journalist, NGO or analyst that has not been established by a finding. Its current status and the named party’s response are always stated.
Data
A measured figure from an official or audited source, with its period and unit.
Event
A dated, uncontested occurrence, such as a notification issued, a bill passed or an arrest made.

Positions

Who says what, paraphrased with attribution. Every holder gets a card of the same size and the same fields.

Data tables

Largest groups: reported size measuresFigures as published by each source with different dates and bases; groups are not on a common basis. Market cap in Rs lakh crore. Revenue and employees only where located; blanks are marked not retrieved.
GroupMarket cap (Rs lakh crore)RevenueEmployeesNote
Tata27.85 (31 Mar 2025, Tata Sons MD&A as reported); another report cites 24.39 for FY26 (unverified)Rs 15.34 lakh crore aggregate (FY25)over 1 million (FY25 group profile as reported)Market cap figures conflict across sources
Reliance23.44 (late Dec 2025, CNBC-TV18 via Storyboard18)Rs 10.71 lakh crore consolidated RIL (FY25)419,911 (FY26, from a job-aggregator page; unverified; the Reliance Group dossier gives 4,03,303 for end FY2024-25 from a different source and year)Revenue is that of Reliance Industries consolidated
Bharti14.6 (late Dec 2025)not retrievednot retrievedMarket cap rose by 3.5 in 2025
Adani14.0 (late Dec 2025)not retrievednot retrievedMarket cap rose by about 1.1 in 2025
Bajajnot stated (rose by 2.6 in 2025)not retrievednot retrieved-
HDFCnot stated (rose by 2.2 in 2025)not retrievednot retrieved-
Aditya Birla, Mahindra, JSW, Vedanta, ICICInot retrievednot retrievednot retrievedListed here for completeness; data not obtained
Source: [4]: Reliance leads India's wealth creation in 2025; Tata Group emerges as outlier (opened)
Group weight in the Nifty 50Percent weight of listed group companies in the Nifty 50 constituents list dated 19 August 2026, summed by this tracker from company weights (list totals about 100). Group membership assigned by this tracker; group totals are not published by NSE.
GroupNifty 50 weight (%)Constituents counted
HDFC10.53HDFC Bank 10.01; HDFC Life 0.52
ICICI9.11ICICI Bank 9.11
Reliance8.76Reliance Industries 8.04; Jio Financial Services 0.72
Tata7.53TCS 2.12; Titan 1.90; Tata Steel 1.38; Trent 0.89; Tata Consumer 0.63; Tata Motors Passenger Vehicles 0.61
Bharti5.3Bharti Airtel 5.30
Bajaj4.86Bajaj Finance 2.63; Bajaj Auto 1.17; Bajaj Finserv 1.06
Aditya Birla3.72Hindalco 1.37; UltraTech 1.23; Grasim 1.12
Mahindra3.69M&M 2.77; Tech Mahindra 0.92 (Kotak Mahindra Bank excluded as a separate group)
Adani1.91Adani Ports 1.13; Adani Enterprises 0.78
JSW1.09JSW Steel 1.09
Vedanta0No constituent in the list
Source: [2]: Nifty 50 Index Constituents as on 19.08.2026 (opened; reproduction of NSE index weights)
Selected sector shares of named leadersLatest figure located; periods, bases and source quality differ. Company-reported figures are labelled. Shares marked derived were computed by this tracker.
SectorLeader(s)SharePeriodBasis
Telecom wireless subscribersReliance Jio 39.25%; Bharti Airtel 37.81%; Vodafone Idea 15.61%; BSNL 7.34%Jio and Airtel together about 77%April 2026TRAI monthly data as reported (private operators 92.32% of 1,282.33 million wireless subscribers at March 2026 per TRAI)
Port cargoAdani Ports and SEZabout 27% (FY25); 28% (H1 FY26)FY25 to H1 FY26Company-reported share of all-India cargo, as summarised in search results
Airport passengersAdani Airport Holdingsabout 24% (23% to 25% across sources)FY25 to FY26Company-reported, not independently verified
Cement capacityUltraTech (Aditya Birla) 154.86 MTPA; Adani (Ambuja/ACC) about 89 MTPA (2024)Top five groups about 54% (Dec 2023, up from 45% in Mar 2015)2023-24Secondary sources
Power capacityAdani Power 18.1 GW thermalabout 3.3% of 548.86 GW (derived)Jan and June 2026Company capacity vs CEA national total, different dates
Oil refining capacityReliance (Jamnagar domestic 33 + SEZ 35.2 MMT) 68.2 MMT; Indian Oil 70.25 MMTReliance about 26.6% of 256.82 MMT (derived)1 April 2024PPAC data as reported
Retail and telecom (Top-5 groups in sector)Top-5 groups' sales share: telecom over 84%; retail trade over 65%-2021Acharya analysis: share of five largest groups in the sector, not one group
Source: [1]: Acharya, India at 75 (BEPA presentation, 30 March 2023), Brookings (opened)
Concentration over time (Acharya series)Share of five largest or next five groups in total assets of the non-financial sector, percent, as published; only endpoints are available.
Group setStartEnd
Big 5 by 2021 assets (Reliance, Tata, Aditya Birla, Adani, Bharti)10% (1991)nearly 18% (2021)
Groups ranked 6 to 1018% (1992)under 9% (2021)
Big 5 average sector presence (2-digit NIC industries)20 (1992)26 (2021)
Big 5 share of M&A dealsunder 3% (2015)nearly 6% (2021)
Source: [1]: Acharya, India at 75 (BEPA presentation, 30 March 2023), Brookings (opened)
Scale against the economyNominal GDP FY2024-25 Rs 330.68 lakh crore (MoSPI provisional). Ratios are revenue over GDP, derived by this tracker. Company revenue includes purchased inputs and is not value added, so the ratio is not a share of GDP.
EntityRevenue FY25 (Rs lakh crore)Revenue as % of nominal GDP (derived)
Tata group aggregate15.344.6
Reliance Industries consolidated10.713.2
Source: [10]: Provisional Estimates of Annual GDP for 2024-25, press release 30 May 2025 (seen in search results, not opened)
Lender exposure to a named group (Adani), December 2022As stated by banks in February 2023 and reported by media. A system-wide table of bank exposure by group was not located.
LenderExposure (Rs crore)Share of loan book
State Bank of India270000.88%
Punjab National Bank7000not stated
Bank of Baroda5380not stated
Source: [8]: Adani-Hindenburg row: SBI's total exposure to Adani group is 0.9% of overall loan book, says chairman (seen in search results, not opened)

What these facts do not show

  • Size, market share and index weight do not show influence over government or regulatory decisions, prices or outcomes; no figure here measures lobbying, access or decision-making, and markup findings in the cited paper are statistical associations by one author, not regulator findings.
  • The tables mix market capitalisation, revenue, assets and capacity, taken from different dates and sources; group totals for listed and unlisted companies are not on one basis, and many group-level revenue, employment, capex and tax figures were not obtained.
  • Figures that differ between dossiers are for different dates or measures and are not reconciled: Adani market capitalisation is 14.0 lakh crore at late December 2025 here and close to 20 lakh crore at late May 2026 in the Adani Group dossier; Reliance market capitalisation is 23.44 lakh crore at late December 2025 here and 20.14 lakh crore at March 2024 in the Reliance Group dossier; the Reliance employee figure is 419,911 (FY26, unverified) here and 4,03,303 (FY2024-25) there.
  • The only lender-exposure table is for the Adani group, because it is the only one for which bank statements were found; no equivalent table exists for another group, so the table is not a comparison.
  • No official data on any group's share of corporate tax, capex or national employment was located, so those shares are not stated; ratios to GDP use revenue, not value added.
  • The Competition Commission's reasons for the Reliance-Disney approval and the full list of its orders on named groups were not obtained, and the cement, port and airport shares rest partly on company statements.

Sources

Numbers in square brackets refer to this list. Types: primary, official data and court sources are weighed above media and academic ones.

Facts as of . Last reviewed .Report an error.